Warriors News · 1st Annual Hall of Fame Class Annoucement

For Immediate Release:
The Cherokee High School Sports Hall of Fame Committee will induct their first Hall of Fame class on Saturday, December 8th, 2018. The class will be inducted in a private ceremony of Family and Special Guests at 1:30pm in the Cherokee North Cafeteria. The class will then be honored before the Varsity Girls Game later that afternoon. We are encouraging everyone to arrive in the Historic Gymnasium at 4pm for the 4:15 ceremony. This momentous event will take place before the Lady Warriors basketball game vs Hillgrove High School at 4:30, with the Boys game to follow in the Historic gym as part of our Hall of Fame Classic.
The Hall of Fame Committee consists of Matt Cates, Gerald Sharpe, Scott O’Bryant, Jason McDaniel, Robin Roper, Sgt. James Morris, and Jay Wallace. The committee created a list of 18 names, with hopes of inducting 25 members in the first five years of the Hall of Fame. In this years’ voting, eight members received the necessary 75% of the votes to warrant induction. The 1st Annual Hall of Fame Class is:
Harold Scott- Coach of the first ever State Champion Lady Warriors in 1964
Charles Bess- Won 3 consecutive State Titles
Ron Ely- Head Coach of the 1973 and 1976 State Champion Lady Warriors, as well as 3 State Runners-up
Will Heath- Earned 12 Varsity Letters at Cherokee and also coached football and basketball.
Brenda Poole Jones- Won 3 consecutive State Championships and was a two-time All-State Honoree
Judy Milford Wickes- scored 2,282 points in her career; MVP of 1964 State Championship Team
Sue Haynes Malone- first female to receive an Athletic scholarship in state of Georgia at North Georgia for basketball
Cindy Ely- Member of 1976 Lady Warriors State Championship Team. Received Athletic scholarship to Tennessee. Played on two United States National Teams.

Jeremy Adams
Athletic Director/Assistant Principal
Cherokee High School